Roberto Lucci was born in Milano, Italy, in 1942, studied design at the Institute of Design in Chicago and at the Corso Superiore di Disegno Industriale, Venezia. Paolo Orlandini was born in Grosseto, Italy, in 1941 and graduated in Architecture at the Politecnico of Milano. Both have worked for several years with Marco Zanuso sr. and Richard Sapper. Their partnership started in 1968. Since then they have designed over 250 products which are, or have been, regularly manufactured and sold in large quantities. Lucci and Orlandini are among the few designers who can claim to have "Signed" over 3,000,000 chairs. Among their designs: furniture for Acerbis-Morphos; kitchen units for Urclinea and Snaidero; chairs, office chairs and sofas for Biesse, Calligaris, Lamm-Thonet, Knoll, Versteel; household appliances for Candy-Zerowatt, Ricagni-Emerson; office furniture for Mascagni, Ora-Vinco, Knoll; lamps for Artemide, Martinelli, Segno; heating equipment for Riello and Sime; acoustic communication and tv for Brionvega, Paso; boats for Pirelli; children products for Peg-Perego pines; scales for Terraillon, Zenith. Both Lucci and Orlandini have lectured on design in in many universities in Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Italy, New Zealand, Switzerland, USA they are authors of the book "Product Design Models" published in the USA by Van Nostrand Reinhold, New York 1990. Roberto Lucci was invited to “Ideas 94” design meeting, Melbourne Australia 1994. Their designs are in the design collection of the MOMA, New York; at the Centre National d'Art Contemporain of the Louvre in Paris; at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago and have been exhibited at the Milano Triennale, at the Museum of Art and Industry in Hamburg, at the Museum of Contemporary Arf of La Jolla, California, at the Chicago Athenaeum and in many other international design exhibitions. Designs by Lucci and Orlandini have been selected for the Compasso d'Oro prize, Milano 1979, 81, 84, 87, 89, 91; received 2 prizes of the Institute of Business Designers, New York 1982, 1986; 2 Smau prizes for Industrial Design, Milano 1971, 78; 1 Roscoe Commendation, New York 1982; 2 international prizes Promosedia Chair Exhibition, Udine 1986, 1987; 3 international prizes Forum Design, Hannover 1983, 90, 92; the Oscar Snai prize, Paris 1990; the IIDA Acclaim Award, Los Angeles 1995; the Industrial Design Distinction Award, New York 1996; the Grandesign International prize, Milano 1997; 2 Catas prizes, Udine 1998; the Top Ten prize, Udine 1999; theBbest of Neocon Gold Award, Chicago 2000.